A Legacy of Student Bursaries

The Bursary Fund of the Centre for Christian Studies has built up over the years, thanks to women and men who have made large and small donations in memory of students, family, and colleagues.  We are grateful for these individuals and the generosity they inspired:

Martha Rutherford BeattyThe Martha Rutherford Beatty  bursary was established in 1960 to be used by United Church Training School for student work.

Westminster United in WinnipegThe Margaret Graham Fisher bursary was established in 1981 for a student “from Westminster United Church, Winnipeg, or from the province of Manitoba, or any deserving student.”

Jean HutchinsonThe Jean Hutchinson  bursary was established in 1987 to honour Mrs. Jean Hutchinson, Principal of the United Church Training School from 1945 to 1953 and Lecturer in New Testament to 1967.  After her death on November 26, 1986, some of her former students suggested that contributions be received to set up a scholarship in her memory.

Anna HilliardThe Anna Hilliard bursary was established in June 1960 as a student bursary fund.

WMS pinThe Annie Elizabeth Agnes Kennedy fund was originally established as a student bursary fund in 1952 from money received from the Women’s Missionary Society of the United Church of Canada.

James and Annie MenziesThe Menzies Memorial Bursary was established as a student bursary in May 1963 from the Annie B. Menzies Estate in memory of Rev. Dr. James Menzies and Mrs. Annie B. Menzies.  Annie Belle Sedgwick was a deaconess in training at the Anglican Deaconess Training School and graduated with its first graduating class in 1909.  She met Dr. James Mellon Menzies at a Student Volunteer Union meeting at Wycliffe College.  They had both decided on a China mission career, and were married by Bishop White in Keifing, China in 1911.  Her daughter wrote that “she was a lady… skilled in letter writing, hospitality and dressmaking, making a charming and restful home for her husband and family.”  Their son Arthur Menzies became an acclaimed Canadian diplomat.

Anglican deaconessesA.C. Mildmay bursary was established in 1975 when the board of the Mildmay Institute gave $10,000 to the Anglican Women’s Training College as a bursary fund when the Institute was closed, in recognition of its close relationship over many years with the AWTC.  The interest was to be used to further training of women workers in the field of Christian social service.  The Mildmay Institute was both a community service and training centre, modelled after the Mildmay Deaconess House in London, England.

Kay PearsonThe Kay Pearson bursary was initiated in 1999.  From 1968 to 1990, Kay worked at the Centre for Christian Studies in Toronto as receptionist and residence coordinator.  Kay lived a ministry of hospitality, compassion and care, and The Centre was indeed graced by her many years of diaconal service to the community of students, staff, residents and hosted groups.  For many, Kay was a source of comfort when far away from family and friends, a creative and energetic spark of enthusiasm, a woman of deeply lived faith, a colleague and friend.  The ground floor meeting room at Woodsworth House in Winnipeg is named the Kay Pearson Room in her honour.

The Bertha Collett Scott student bursary was established in November 1976 by a gift from William Allen Moorhead and Carman Gardner Fullerton.

F N G StarrThe Dr. F.N.G. Starr was established in 1960.  Starr was the son of a Methodist minister who grew up to be a physician and a key figure in the early days of the Canadian Medical Association.  Perhaps the bursary fund named for him was given by his widow.  The award was to be made to a member of the graduating class of UCTS, ordinarily one who was planning to give full time Christian service in an auxiliary branch of the medical profession, such as nursing physical therapy or hospital technician, with preference to a student planning to serve in a remote area in Canada.