February CCS Friday – Harmonious Space

February CCS Friday – Harmonious Space

You’ve heard about creating “safe space.” Join us on Friday, February 23 (noon Central, 10am Pacific, 11am Mountain, 1pm Eastern, 2pm Atlantic) for an online conversation about creating “harmonious space” rather than “safe space” and how harmonious space is the condition in which diversity and inclusion truly grow.  Guided by author bell hooks, who said, “ Learning takes place in harmonious space” and “Community that allows for risk, the risk of knowing someone outside your own boundaries is love.”  We will consider harmony and risk a opposed to “safety” as the best environment suitable for diversity.

Our special guest will be Deaconess Adrainne Gray.  Adrainne was consecrated a Lutheran Diaconal Association (LDA) deaconess and ordained an Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) deacon in 2017.  She is currently the Director for Recruitment for the LDA with a focus on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion and works remotely from her home in Atlanta, GA.

CCS Fridays are free. Please register to receive a zoom link.

CCS Fridays: Online conversations to help us respond faithfully to emerging issues in local contexts.  These workshops are open to anyone who might be interested. Each session will be on a Friday from 12:00 to 1:00 CT and in the form of a Zoom workshop.  There will be a presentation that will be recorded for future viewing, plus opportunities to engage with the ideas in small groups.

No Comments

Add your comment