CCS Governance

The Centre for Christian studies is governed by a Central Council, made up of 2 co-chairs (Anglican and United), a secretary, the chairs of CCS’s Committees, members-at-large from the Anglican and United Churches, 2 students, 1 staff member, and the Principal.

Each Committee oversees an aspect of CCS’s life and operation with the assistance of working groups.

(Click on individual Committee and working group names below to view their terms of reference.)


Finance Committee

Program Committee

Communications and Promotions Committee

Staff Support Committee

Planning and Governance Committee

Composition of Central Council and Executive:


  • 2 co-chairs, 1 Anglican and 1 United Church
  • 1 secretary (non-elected and non-voting) – The Board may appoint a recording secretary who is an ex officio member of the Board, who shall attend meetings of the Board to record minutes; this person shall be responsible to the co-chairs.
  • Chairs (or designates from) Committees
    • 1 Finance
    • 1 Staff Support
    • 1 Program
    • 1 Communications and Promotions
    • 1 Planning and Governance
  • 1 Anglican person
  • 1 United Church person
  • 2 students
  • 1 staff member (non-voting, appointed annually by the staff)
  • 1 principal (non-voting)
  • Ex officio Secretary of Theological Education of the United Church of Canada *
  • Ex officio Secretary of Theological Education of the Anglican Church of Canada *
    • *(These latter two members may attend meetings should they choose and may be asked to come in to make a presentation; they are non-voting members; they receive minutes of Board meetings.)

(11 voting members)


The Board shall appoint an Executive which shall deal with emergent issues between meetings of the Board.

  • 2 co-chairs
  • Secretary (non-voting)
  • Treasurer
  • 1 Anglican
  • 1 United Church person
  • Principal (non-voting)